Walk to work in the snow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Greetings! This isn’t a very seasonal post, but today is a very cold, gloomy day, and I am still wrapped up in my winter clothes, so I thought that a post about snow was in order.

I also thought that it would be nice to remind myself that there are wonderful things to see on even the blandest, most mundane of walks. For example, I walk the same route to work every single day. But the walk can look and feel very different depending on the weather, my mood, or what I encounter along the way.

I can be head-down, wrapped tightly in my coat, when suddenly I see something that brightens my day. Once when I was very close to the city centre, I saw a heron dash in to the river and catch a fish, and another time I had a deer run across my path. I’ve also bumped in to exchange students from Austria, and helped a very lost elderly lady who was looking for the bus station. When you walk the same route twice a day, five times a week, you’re bound to encounter something interesting every now and then.

This was especially the case a year ago. I had been walking the same route for six months, when it was suddenly transformed by heavy snowfall. In an instant, my walk to work became a bit of an adventure. I needed to use my brain to avoid ice and deep patches of cold whiteness, and everywhere I looked the scene was magical.

I captured this on camera, and even though I still see the same buildings and trees every day, looking back at these photos makes me smile. I will try to remember my camera on the next sunny day, and get some images of the route bathed in sunshine and green grass, but for now I hope you enjoy these pictures.

2 thoughts on “Walk to work in the snow

What do you think?

