Best places to eat in Mayrhofen: part two

Welcome to the second part of the rundown of my top five restaurants in Mayrhofen. I am sure you have all been waiting with bated breath to find out the final two, so let me relieve your suffering and unveil the other amazing places that have made my list.

4. Ciao

Mayrhofen may be in Austria, but the Zilertal region is on the border with Italy, so there is some great Italian food to be had. Ciao is undeniably the winner in this area; it serves all the usual pasta and pizza dishes, but it serves them damn well.

The restaurant is small and compact, and it has a lively atmosphere. If you’re stuck for choice on the menu, I recommend a pizza. They come the size of dinner plates and are completely fresh. There is a good variety of toppings (including pickled peppers) and there is a good amount of them. There is nothing sadder than receiving a pizza devoid of anything but the smallest smear of tomato and a miserly grating of cheese.

I would tell you my favourite topping, but I got a bit squiffy the last time I was there and I can’t for the life of me remember what I ordered. This makes it a little tricky to voice a ‘favourite’ pizza. However, on my first visit, I ordered a rusticana, and it was scrumptious. I gorge on speck when I am in Austria, and this cured pork works wonderfully well as a pizza topping. Try it if you can.

Pudding-wise, you can’t go wrong with the tiramisu. If you steer clear of rich puddings for most of the year, a walking or skiing holiday is the perfect excuse to make an exception. The tiramisu served here is light and creamy, and it has a good smack of booze and coffee. Yum.

I also seem to remember through my alcohol haze that the ice cream here was rather good. Nothing like a big bowl of frozen cream to soak up the vino…

Note: there is limited seating here, so I would definitely book ahead. Also, Ciao does take away, which can be very handy if you can’t get seated, but you’re desperate for a little Italian carb-filled goodness.

5. Steak house

Now this steak house has had a few mixed reviews, but I have always had a really good meal here. Trust me, I’m an expert.

In the summer you can sit outside on the cushioned benches and enjoy a meal under the warming heat lamps. We did this on my first ever visit to Mayrhofen, and it was fantastic watching the sun set over the mountains while we quaffed schnapps. You can also do this in the winter, but you’d have to be a far hardier soul than I.

Steaks served here are gigantic and will definitely boost your iron levels. My boyfriend and I started off both of our walking trips with a visit here, and the red meat definitely sets you up for a hard week of stomping around mountains.

If I’m in the mood for steak, I always opt for the cowboy rib-eye. You get served a massive slab of juicy meat with mushrooms and your choice of potatoes. There is also an excellent salad bar in the main part of the restaurant that you can help yourself to. (This is supposedly only available with certain dishes, but ask the staff and they will give you the go-ahead.)

On my last visit, I ordered the marvel that is kaserspatzle. This restaurant’s version is perfectly rich and cheesy, topped with some caramelised onions. A perfect winter warmer or summer stodge-fest.

There are loads of cakes available here, and the strudel is top-notch. It also serves my favourite cocktail- Hugo (Prosecco, soda water, elderberry cordial and mint leaves). You must try this if you can.

Note: This is a sizeable restaurant and you can get away with not booking.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this post! I don’t know about you, but I am ready for dinner now. Pity it is still four hours away. Sigh.

(There is another mountain-side restaurant that I would like to add to this list, but I can’t remember the name of it… I will add it when I can!)

What do you think?

